Where You At?

May 27, 2010 at 5:09 am 1 comment

I’ve touched on the impending end of individual privacy several times before, but it’s hit home once again. When my cel phone contract expired, I paid a visit to see what’s available in the world of communication bling that will have to do two specific things:

1. Make calls

and

2. Receive calls

Questions from the folks at “V” (a most appropriate nickname for a company that is very hi-tech in service but seems to be run by less-than-humans) led me to believe that they consider anything that handled these requests of mine to only be by-products, nice to have but only a side benefit.

I declined their sales pitches promoting phones that took pictures, saying that I had a camera that did that and allowed me to save, access and email my photos without paying someone for the privilege. I also passed on texting, since I consider that to mostly be a waste of time like sending smoke signals back and forth, whereas in most cases a single simple phone call could have resolved all of the issues in a short verbal burst.

Then I dropped the bomb…. Why can’t I just re-activate one of my ancient Motorola StarTac flip phones (which I still have 3 of, sitting in a box in my office) and just use that one?

This was my all time favorite cel phone, it was sturdy and small enough to slip in my jeans front pocket, and the damn thing just worked everytime and everywhere. Plus, you could flip it open just like a Star Trek communicator, and it didn’t take photos of the inside of my pocket like subsequent Samsung phones did.

Their shocked reply was, “We can’t re-activate that phone because it was made before cel phones had GPS systems built in, and the federal government now requires that all phones have a working GPS installed in order to be used on the ‘V’ network” (and one assumes, all other carriers as well). Wandering through the menu on my current phone (also a Motorola, but a piece of crap that has nothing in common with the StarTac), I did find that there is a GPS selection, on or off.

Hey, there’s a lot more to be added on to this post soon, working some long days in the fantasy castle lately preclude blogging.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Happy “B” day to ms. queen “B” Carly, finish that sentence…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. lulumoretti  |  May 27, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    Hey Jerry ~ I found you amongst the commentors to Collins’ millionaire column.
    About cell phones. Two years ago I got a Motorola whatever thing that does everything, but hold a battery beyond a couple calls. The ATT guy said it’s because the phone ‘does everything’. I said I don’t want it to ‘do everything’. I want it to be a telephone of the communicating via voice mode. He couldn’t be made to understand that I don’t want to text or tweet or play games or listen to music. Just call/receive calls. Well, bottom line, no dice.
    My favorite phone was a candy bar Nokia from the Pleistocene. I went to the Nokia site and found a world of cave-woman phones and I’m getting one of those. And, actually, you can put your sim card into your old phone and if it fits it should work. I did that with my older Motorola. . .a flipper.

    For the past two years I’ve learned to work around the system in just about every way. It makes life so much more fun.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


