Do Not Forsake Me, Zelda Gilroy….

June 3, 2014 at 11:36 pm 1 comment

In todays election for my district’s office of Los Angeles County Supervisor, Sheila Kuehl got my vote, there was nothing I could do to ignore this election as she was one of my early t.v. crushes first seen by me as Zelda Gilroy on the show “The Adventures of Dobie Gillis“.  The fact that she years later came out as a lesbian (and I’m a life long heterosexual) is immaterial, her portrayal of a perky brilliant, intense and persistent young lady that didn’t give up on her dreams no matter how many times she was bumped aside by Thalia Menninger (a.k.a. Tuesday Weld), a sexy vixen who somehow saw Dobie as an alternative to Warren Beatty. In the real world, Warren who is the brother of Shirley MacLaine, served as a precursor to Eric Roberts, the brother of Julia Roberts, in the category of non-speaking siblings.

Image

Zelda wonders, “How can I leap over Gilligan’s Island and land on Dobie”?

There were other formative shows on the air while I was growing up, one of the most relatable for me being “Love that Bob“, where Bob Cummings played a photographer who was always surrounded by swim suit clad models (and the recently deceased Ann B. Davis)Watching the pre-Brady Bunch video clips of Ms. Davis I was amazed by how much her voice and facial expressions were similar to those of Ellen DeGeneres, which is scary, very scary.

AnnEllen

Will you still need me, will you still feed me?

 In so many ways, my life path certainly resembled what was found on a pachinko machine, with a bouncy path that took me past a lot of diversions to end up with my eventual career as a photographer. Perhaps my route could have been preordained by the hits on the bumpers and flippers of life that were shown on our old black and white window to the world. 

Image“Hold it, I think you’re going to like this picture”

Was there another crush, you ask? Oh Hell yes, on “Hennesey“, a program about a Navy doctor played by Jackie Cooper, there was a nurse played by Abby Dalton who I thought was (in spite of the poorly airbrushed studio issued publicity photo below) absolutely beautiful, something about that overbite perhaps. I got to work with Abby years later on the t.v. show “Falcon Crest”, and stuttered my way through telling her about my early enchantment, I suppose she was just being nice because she didn’t laugh in my face, or order me removed from the lot by security. 

Image

It’s exceeded 40 years, do I consult a medical professional?

N.B., The ownership of any and all photos, opinions, and/ or quotes above (including those of mine) belong to the material’s creator(s). Credit is given when it’s known, but because success usually has a million parents and failure is an orphan, blame will not be so attributed. 

Feel free to ignore any ads that are shown below, I don’t choose them and (sadly) I don’t make a penny off any of them.

blogInsert

FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE CONTAINS COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. I AM MAKING SUCH MATERIAL AVAILABLE IN MY EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF ENVIRONMENTAL, POLITICAL, HUMAN RIGHTS, ECONOMIC, DEMOCRACY, SCIENTIFIC, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES, ETC. I BELIEVE THIS CONSTITUTES A ‘FAIR USE’ OF ANY SUCH COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL AS PROVIDED FOR IN SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 U.S.C. SECTION 107, THE MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS DISTRIBUTED WITHOUT PROFIT TO THOSE WHO HAVE EXPRESSED A PRIOR INTEREST IN RECEIVING THE INCLUDED INFORMATION FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION GO TO: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/USCODE/17/107.SHTML.  IF YOU WISH TO USE COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL FROM THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES OF YOUR OWN THAT GO BEYOND ‘FAIR USE’, YOU MUST OBTAIN PERMISSION FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER.  

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Republican Does Anal Self-Sex Live On T.V. Hi, Remember Me (And “That Place”)?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tim  |  June 4, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    Check with Michele Bachman’s hubby Marcus regarding treatment for your curious affliction regarding falling for lesbian actresses. But seriously, thank you for highlighting Ann B’s work with Bob Cummings. I thought it odd all the commentary of “best known for her role as Alice on the Brady bunch”. For me it was her role as Schultzy-

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


