The Latest Verizon Adventure

August 7, 2012 at 6:56 pm 1 comment

What I had intended to say was “Get your tongue out of my mouth bitch, I’m kissing you goodbye”, but what I actually said to the Verizon representative woman was “I have two phones with Verizon, and one of them has ended its contractual 2 year agreement yesterday so I want to cancel that number and close off that part of my account, please”.

It’s not my car, but I share those feelings

To bring all of my new readers (yes, both of you) up to speed, I’ve  had a 20 year love / hate relationship with Verizon, one that I always swear will end when the current contract expires, but like a mother who somehow manages to forget about the agony of child birth and gets pregnant again, here I am. I think I came up with an unintentional yet very funny line there in that last analogy, screwed hard yet getting back in line for more.

Go ahead Verizon, it’s only one more nail

I’ve used and been abused by Verizon for all this time because I work on films and travel to a lot of locations all over the map, and while doing so I’ve had the opportunity to compare usability with others on the crew, and often mine is the only phone working on the set, it just works.

Who didn’t choose ATT/Sprint/T-Mobile?

This includes films done on location in my ancestral homeland of Detroit, where for the past several years I would work as a local hire by staying with friends and relatives. This practice came to a screeching halt when the last election for the office of governor of Michigan put republican Rick Snyder (yes, feel free to call him “Dick”) into office in January.

Bend Over Michigan Film Makers, I’ll drive you home – less

One of the first official acts of this “Dick” was to chop the legs out from under the relatively new and quickly growing Michigan film industry, in addition to kicking many newly hired workers who were long time unemployed ex-auto industry employees directly to the curb.

Looking for work since “Detroit-187” was cancelled

Just to explain why I came to have an additional Verizon phone, I needed a dedicated cel phone with a Detroit area prefix (248) while working in the SouthEast part of Michigan. Five months after I signed my two year contract, there was no longer a Michigan Film Industry to work in. That phone became a paperweight that I still had to pay for each month until either the contract expired or I did.  I’ve learned that some businesses will shake hands hello when you enter, Verizon will bite your ass on your way out.

Customer Relations, Verizon Style

It had to talk with three levels of managers in that store to not get charged for an additional month. One finally got it that since my contract expired August 3rd and I came in to cancel on August 4th,  I couldn’t have canceled on the 3rd because the contract was still in effect and I’d have to pay a penalty for early cancellation, so it would be, in Verizon-speak,
perhaps wrong for them to charge me for the full month of August. “Perhaps”, I really have grown to like that word….

The ownership of any and all photos, opinions, and/ or quotes above (including those of mine) belong to the material’s creator(s). Credit is given when it’s known, but because success usually has a million parents and failure is an orphan, blame will not be so attributed. 

P.S., check back for occasional updates and rewrites….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

The Collision Of Two Technologies Outsourced Olimpic Souvenirs, Now On Aisle 6

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. tcardoc  |  August 7, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    Great post- And Thanx for thinking of Lulu and I.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


