Act III, Scene II, Wherein I Cave To The Devil I Know

May 8, 2012 at 5:05 pm 1 comment

In a previous post of mine, I brought up the subject of how each cell phone that I had received from that not to be named company ended up dying almost exactly the same time as the contract expired, either by their use of some internal timer chip or an external death signal sent from that “Company”, and how I was now considering continuing with the use of my old phone which was somehow still working instead of getting a new and improved one, which would be received along with a new two year noose to place around my neck.

Image

As they say on Faux T.V., “And Now The Noose”.

Well, someone at that company must have broken that very tricky Latin code I used, and figured out that there was someone out there with one of their phones that was trying to make a “Logan’s Run” and avoid the death beam. Only a few days after this was published, my phone began the random act of shutting off and then re-starting on its own. 

ImageWho is the Pivot Man in this Cell Phone Circle Jerk?

Yesterday morning it shut down three times in two hours, so the hint was no longer a subtle one that I could ignore, the storm troopers of the evil empire were narrowing down their search pattern, immediate evasive action was required.

On the grid, you can run but you can’t hide

For the past few weeks I had been asking people I work with who their cell provider was and if the service they received was good. It soon became obvious that the only choice for me was to stay with the Devil I know, and just wish that in two years things might be different.  Someday I may pass along a joke about wishes, below is the “G” rated pictorial WWII version of the one that my father told me.

ImageYou have a wish in one hand and …….

After a brief visit to Costco I now have a shiny new Droid Bionic to start yet another learning curve with, but it’s going to be smoother than the one with my previous Droid Incredible, I swallowed the “Kool-Aid” and now I actually get the “Android Way”.

ImageMy way or the highway, and I’ll give you directions

As an afterthought, the most incredible part about my previous “Incredible” phone was that I managed to not give in to my dark side at the end of the first week, take my Makita and a drywall screw and permanently mount it on the wall.

And believe me, that dark side of mine was screaming….

blogInsert

N.B., The ownership of any and all photos, opinions, and/ or quotes above (including those of mine) belong to the material’s creator(s). Credit is given when it’s known, but because success usually has a million parents and failure is an orphan, blame will not be so attributed.
Feel free to ignore any ads that are shown below, I don’t choose them and (sadly) I don’t make a penny off any of them.
P.S., check back for occasional updates and rewrites….
FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE CONTAINS COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. I AM MAKING SUCH MATERIAL AVAILABLE IN MY EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF ENVIRONMENTAL, POLITICAL, HUMAN RIGHTS, ECONOMIC, DEMOCRACY, SCIENTIFIC, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES, ETC. I BELIEVE THIS CONSTITUTES A ‘FAIR USE’ OF ANY SUCH COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL AS PROVIDED FOR IN SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 U.S.C. SECTION 107, THE MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS DISTRIBUTED WITHOUT PROFIT TO THOSE WHO HAVE EXPRESSED A PRIOR INTEREST IN RECEIVING THE INCLUDED INFORMATION FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION GO TO: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/USCODE/17/107.SHTML.  IF YOU WISH TO USE COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL FROM THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES OF YOUR OWN THAT GO BEYOND ‘FAIR USE’, YOU MUST OBTAIN PERMISSION FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER.  


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

That Line Your Cell Phone Co. Gives You? The Tea Party Dichotomy Question

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. 1volvo4you  |  May 9, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    “Page Not Found
    The page you’re looking for has moved, been replaced, or is currently unavailable to view.”

    Jerry,

    The above is AT&T’s message to me when I tried to pay my landline bill just now. Actually, this message followed my accessing my account and learning there was a goodly credit sitting there in all its greeness. And why was this? Don’t know. Punitive damages perhaps? Then it doesn’t begin to be enough. The GFY (“go fuck yourself”) page came when I clicked their “Contact Us” option. Apparently, AT&T is out of the Contact Us business.

    So, let’s talk about AT&T and the NOOSE. I’ve thought about that metaphor and have to disagree. A noose and subsequent drop results in the mechanical stimulation of the carotid sinus in the neck and terminal cardiac arrest. This is quick, even, I suspect, to the dropee.

    But all of us familiar with AT&T know that is not their method. Nothing is fast or relatively painless. To be part of the AT&T family is to learn endurance, to manage pain, to rise above the mental abuses inherent in long periods of torture. The relationship might be construed, by the more optimistic, to be a process of character development. As the world’s largest telecommunications entity we have to understand they know best and it’s up to us whether we want to trade our souls in two year increments for a $300 discount on a Samsung Note.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Most Recent Posts


