A Heterosexual’s Social Media Dilemma!

January 7, 2012 at 1:28 pm 3 comments

Earlier today I had a phone call from a very long time friend who sounded upset. He told me, “I looked all around for you on facebook this morning, and I couldn’t find you, what’s up with that?”.

And then he added; “Hey, while I have you on the phone, give me your twitter contact so we can stay in touch”.

At the risk of belaboring the obvious, I took a deep breath and slowly said to him that if he thought about it, we actually were “in touch” at that moment, and all that he needed to do was click on my name in his cel phone’s directory to make that connection anytime he wanted to.

Nothing to see there, so I moved along and wrote the whole thing off as just a weird event. A few days later I was thinking how great it was that I was able to be in contact with everyone that I wanted to, and just as much as I wanted to by just making a call or sending an e-mail, and that I was able to receive or disseminate information in that manner as well. This went well for me until I tried to post a comment to an article in the Los Angeles Times.

Something must have recently changed at the Times, because it said that I was not able to post unless I first logged in to the L.A. Times using Facebook. And to demonstrate the power of social media over the old school media, we find that they’ve borrowed a lot from the Microsoft baseball play book, the one that goes “Play ball with us or we shove the bat up your ass”.  Facebook arranged that the L.A. Times didn’t offer any other choices for this, not even logging using my Google account the way that I’ve always used in the past is an option. However, they were kind enough to offer me a direct link I could use so I would be able to join Facebook on the spot,

Hey,  even my Android (Google!) phone has a link

The reality is that I’m not now and never, ever will be able to log in anywhere where Facebook (or that matter, Instagram, Twitter or any of the other so called social media sites) is the only choice. Perhaps this is because I’m an adult heterosexual male, and not a teenager of either sex or any of the various mid point options between those two main groups, and I have no need for walls for others to post photos, wallpaper, or whatever else it is they do on them.

Is the meaning of this clear to you?

In my view of what’s going on (some may say paranoia) when I find an ad like the one above, or see one in the newspaper for an electronics store I go to that says I will need to log on to Facebook and friend them in order to get special discounts or other offers, maybe that time has come to push back.

I feel that there’s already far too much information on all of us out there, data that’s too easy to access by persons or businesses unknown to us, giving away information that we don’t care to share with anyone, close friends or otherwise.

So I make every effort I’m able to do to stay off that grid as much as possible by not adding any personal details that aren’t relevant but required an application, or optional input when I am funneled through a chute and asked to enter my birthdate, where I was born, what my first pet’s name was, the name of my high school, or any other information on me that has no bearing on what I want, material that’s likely swapped between an ever growing collection of interconnected data bases bought and sold by internet pirates.

Watching those walls closing in?

Well, I’m sure it’s all different for you because…. eh, I’ll get back to you on that. Try to find yourself a comfortable place to sit, make sure your papers are in order, and keep an eye on your Facebook wall for any updates.

N.B., The ownership of any and all photos, opinions, and/ or quotes above (including those of my own) belong to the material’s creator(s). Credit is given when it’s known, but as everyone knows, success usually has a million parents and failure is an orphan.

Feel free to ignore any ads that are shown below this advisory, I don’t get to choose them and even more sadly, I don’t make a penny off any of them, so in the holy name of capitalism I rebuke and don’t endorse or support any of them, unless of course they’re made of funny stuff…..  

P.S., check back for occasional updates and rewrites….

FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE CONTAINS COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. I AM MAKING SUCH MATERIAL AVAILABLE IN MY EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF ENVIRONMENTAL, POLITICAL, HUMAN RIGHTS, ECONOMIC, DEMOCRACY, SCIENTIFIC, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES, ETC. I BELIEVE THIS CONSTITUTES A ‘FAIR USE’ OF ANY SUCH COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL AS PROVIDED FOR IN SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 U.S.C. SECTION 107, THE MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS DISTRIBUTED WITHOUT PROFIT TO THOSE WHO HAVE EXPRESSED A PRIOR INTEREST IN RECEIVING THE INCLUDED INFORMATION FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION GO TO: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/USCODE/17/107.SHTML.  IF YOU WISH TO USE COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL FROM THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES OF YOUR OWN THAT GO BEYOND ‘FAIR USE’, YOU MUST OBTAIN PERMISSION FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. 

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

T.V. or not T.V.? A banner question…. Big Bang Theory For Burr Tilstrom’s KF&O

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tcardoc  |  January 7, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Ah but we are “Linkedin” no?

    Reply
  • 2. boskolives  |  January 7, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    You can count the days on that one Tim.

    I’m phasing out of Linkedin, it turned out to be just a sadly mistaken idea, one that was done in the hopes that it might lead to work. I’m deleting a few connections each day as time allows.
    I chalk it up as an epic fail……
    Jerry

    Reply
  • 3. lulumoretti  |  January 7, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Remember the cartoon “On the Internet no one knows you’re a dog.” ? I, feeling the facebook push, yet determined to keep myself to myself, put my deceased dog on the big blue f. She provided cover for my various media scribblings and comments until someone breached the divide. A long-ago person with whom I could have kept a connection but chose not to, who knew I’d once owned She-who-shall-not-be-named, attempted to ‘friend’ me, and gave me such a severe case of the creeps I deleted the whole shebang.

    It all reminds me of an ancient Ann Landers response to the query “An old school friend who is now very famous is coming to town. I want to see him for old time’s sake. Should I seek him out?” She said: “Ask yourself this: Would he seek YOU out? If not, move on.”
    lulu

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


