That TV antenna, stuck in my vein again

August 5, 2008 at 6:04 am 3 comments

As much as I try to keep my life television free, every once in a while it creeps up on me. For a few years I especially avoided watching the “Will and Grace” show when it first aired because of my acquired huge dislike for all things Debra Messing, after having worked a few days with her on “Ned and Stacy”.  But one evening when I was visiting with a friend, it was on her t.v. and I was drawn to it by the fine performance by the cast other than DM, who herself wasn’t too difficult to watch, especially knowing that her persona as a miserable whining bitch wasn’t that much of a stretch for her, lucky for her the only better suited actress for the role is busy on Desperate Housewives.

So, I caught up with Will and Grace on the late night reruns and, as it turned out, really enjoyed it.

Well, here I am again…. and this time it’s a show called “Two and a half men”. At last a source of real to the core laughter for me at a time when it’s really needed, as the economy (my own and the nations) and the government falls apart around us all on a daily  basis. The local station plays two episodes back to back at 7pm here in Los Angeles, and it’s become part of my routine after watching the news.

One thing that I was curious about was what the page of text was that flashed on the screen for a second or so was, so I did a google search on “page of text on screen after two and a half men”. It turns out to be called a vanity card, and one of the results was a link:

http://www.chucklorre.com/

This is where you can see all the cards from each episode of this show and others done by Chuck Lorre over the past few years, such as Two and a Half Men,  Dharma & Greg, Cybill,  Grace Under Fire, and  The Big Bang Theory,.

I remembered that the older shows were very entertaining, but “The Big Bang Theory” was unknown to me, so I looked it up and found it was on tonight. I watched it, and as well written and acted that the others are/were, this is just an at best average (and that’s certainly damning with faint praise) display of why t.v. is called a medium.

It’s neither rare nor well done.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

….Until I Stop Kicking!!! Personal Ad: City ISO Newpaper, NSA

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. beejay  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I hear you! It’s hard to keep that tube under control isn’t it? That’s why people have so overwhelmly turned to reality television. At least if you are going to be watching dumb, you can see it unfold without the filter of what writers writers think is funny.

    Talk about comedy of the absurd! Might I suggest for the ultimate in stupid viewing pleasure, Gene Simmon’s Family Jewels or The Two Coreys on A&E? Nothing like watching watching the famous stumble through life like the rest of us. If you really want to hit the bottom of the barrel try Date My EX on Bravo. Now there is stupid and mediocre! Me I prefer the stand up on Comedy Central or The Mind of Mencia. Where is Dave Chappelle or Chris Rock when I need them?

    Reply
  • 2. beejay  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Oh! By the way. Avoiding T.V. is like trying to avoid watching a car wreck or someone gettiing a ticket on the 405. We try to rise above it all, but sometimes just can’t help ourselves in a moment of weakness, like exhaustion after a hard day at work.

    Reply
  • 3. Bob Byrne  |  August 8, 2008 at 6:22 pm

    Billboards are everywhere. They’re placed in your path to sell you products. Some of which you need, most of which you don’t.

    TV is a billboard. It has the potential to be more than that, but it’s a potential unfulfilled.

    Maybe YouTube (or its successor) will supplant broadcast TV and fulfill that lost potential.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


