Initially speaking…

April 12, 2008 at 11:47 am 3 comments

Alas, once again broadcasting from the back of the bus….

My last name starts with the letter “W”, the same as the middle initial of America’s 1st Asshole, George “W” Bush. It’s very scary that I share all three out of a possible three initials with that moron, but with the order flipped around. Do I have a touch of the dark side hidden away?

In my life, this little inverted “M” has often left me, but for the existence of Annette and Stanley Zurwalski in my elementary school days in Detroit, far at the end of the line for most things. With the standard seating chart logic used during that time, you could usually find me in the back of the classroom, far from a place to catch the finer points of a lecture. To the best of my spotty at best memory, the only exception has been during the third or fourth grade, when the newly developed polio vaccine shot was given to school kids, and some administrator at the school decided to start at the (no pun intended) rear end of the alphabet. Ouch. Thanks, no thanks.

This comes to mind now because last week I received a call from a company located in Maryland that was looking for a sound recordist in the Los Angeles area for a Discovery Channel shoot. When I asked how they got my name so I could thank whoever passed it to them, they said it was from a directory that lists (among other things) crew people that work in the film industry. I’ve been in this book for over 25 years, and this is the first time I’ve ever gotten a call for a job from it. I asked them why they had not been able to find anyone in the first 98% of the listings, and the woman I spoke to said only that they had decided to start at the back of the list, for whatever reason.

Could it be that Eric Zeehandelaar is dead, or maybe he’s just gone out of town?

Sometimes I think that I’d like to start over with a name something like Aaron Aardvark, just to see what it’s like to get the jump on almost everything else in life. 

What say you Billy Arvia, you lucky bastard?

BTW, here’s a link to Billy’s usually very funny blog: http://www.triplebee.squarespace.com

N.B., The ownership of any and all photos, opinions, and/ or quotes above (including those of my own) belong to the material’s creator(s). Credit is given when it’s known, but as everyone knows, success usually has a million parents and failure is an orphan.

Feel free to ignore any ads that are shown below, I don’t get to choose them and (sadly) I don’t make a penny off any of them, so in the holy name of capitalism I rebuke and don’t endorse or support any of them, unless of course they’re made of funny stuff…..  

P.S., check back for occasional updates and rewrites….

blogInsert

FAIR USE NOTICE: THIS SITE CONTAINS COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL THE USE OF WHICH HAS NOT ALWAYS BEEN SPECIFICALLY AUTHORIZED BY THE COPYRIGHT OWNER. I AM MAKING SUCH MATERIAL AVAILABLE IN MY EFFORT TO ADVANCE UNDERSTANDING OF ENVIRONMENTAL, POLITICAL, HUMAN RIGHTS, ECONOMIC, DEMOCRACY, SCIENTIFIC, AND SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUES, ETC. I BELIEVE THIS CONSTITUTES A ‘FAIR USE’ OF ANY SUCH COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL AS PROVIDED FOR IN SECTION 107 OF THE US COPYRIGHT LAW. IN ACCORDANCE WITH TITLE 17 U.S.C. SECTION 107, THE MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS DISTRIBUTED WITHOUT PROFIT TO THOSE WHO HAVE EXPRESSED A PRIOR INTEREST IN RECEIVING THE INCLUDED INFORMATION FOR RESEARCH AND EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES. FOR MORE INFORMATION GO TO: HTTP://WWW.LAW.CORNELL.EDU/USCODE/17/107.SHTML.  IF YOU WISH TO USE COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL FROM THIS SITE FOR PURPOSES OF YOUR OWN THAT GO BEYOND ‘FAIR USE’, YOU MUST OBTAIN PERMISSION FROM THE COPYRIGHT OWNER.  

 
Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Connecting a few dots… If Obama should happen to ask….

3 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


