A sad but true sports confession, with no steroids involved

February 4, 2008 at 2:39 am 1 comment

It’s seldom that I know when the superbowl is going to take place, but this year I can just feel it in the air. And on signs almost everywhere. And on a ton of blurbs on tv and the radio.

I even know where it’s going to take place, but that’s due to catching a my return flight in Phoenix from a video shoot in Sedona, Arizona a few days ago.

I don’t know or care who’s playing, or at this late hour who won it if it’s over, but I’m sure some pinhead will corner me tomorrow asking if I won any money on the game.

So, here’s the fitting analogy of me and sports:

In more than a few old war movies about WWII there’s a scene where some GI’s are returning from a night mission and some sentry at their base will say “Halt, who goes there?”. The reply is usually something like “We’re Americans!”, and is met with the challenge “Well, if you’re Americans, who won the World Series in 1937?”.

O.K., if it had been me, I’d still be stuck out there in the jungle.

I can tell you most of the line up of the Detroit Tigers in the late 1950’s or early 1960’s, but that’s about the time I fell (some might say I was pushed) off the sports wagon.

And I’m o.k. with that, but if it was a life or death question put to me to name any one player on any sports team right now, only blind luck in blurting out some name might save me.

I sorta remember Briggs Stadium a little, along with Rocky Colavito, Al Kaline, Harvey Kuen, Norm Cash and all the others that I would insult by trying and failing to spell their names correctly, but that’s it.

So it goes…….

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

More addictive than crack? Signature Files At My Cost (For Free)

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Billy Arvia  |  February 8, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Jerry,
    I guess I follow spoerts a little closer than you but it was kind fo cool to see names like Kaline and Colavito, I grew up in Chicago so mine are Santo,Banks, Williams and Jenkins.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Most Recent Posts


