That non-explainable time-space thing

March 29, 2007 at 3:52 am 2 comments

Yesterday I had what I would call a near death experience that took place in slow motion, but somehow also in just a heartbeat. A very large SUV coming in my direction on a major street went out of control, sideswiped a newish Mercedes, and slid sideways on two wheels straight towards me, missing the front of my car by about 10 feet before it crashed into a parked motorhome to my right.
I watched it come straight at me frame by frame, hearing the screeching and seeing clouds of smoke and small details like the airborne tires spinning, but then a second later it was over and the SUV flopped back to ground on 4 wheels. I drove on slowly, pausing for a look to see that the occupants were o.k., and they seemed to be, so I went on my way to work.
I’m not sure who left more of a skidmark, the SUV or (if you get my drift) me, but I had in the brief time that it was looking like I was going to be dead meat, pictured the newspaper article in the Wednesday L.A. Times describing how if I had lived, I would have celebrated my birthday today. Crap…. I really don’t need this now, it’s bad enough getting another decade older.
Well, if that which doesn’t kill us makes us stronger, I must be ready for anything now.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The difference between us is more than a penis! Double speak, squared (at least)……

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shishir Sharma  |  March 29, 2007 at 4:44 am

    Happy B’day to you dude….
    Today is my B’day too 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Chris Gillette  |  March 30, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Good day there, fellow sound mixer!!! Chris here from Brisbane Australia, thanks for dropping me a line on my site. I know what you mean about recording media. It’s happening here too. I’ve been looking at a solid state digital recorder – which would be more practical in the environments I work in over here – but I’ve seen Mac driven set ups – and they look great! Do you use timecode, and if so – can your Mac generate / accept it?

    Well thanks for getting in touch, all the best for the future – I hope you hear many, many more wonderful sounds.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2007
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


