Exactly the same, only different.

February 7, 2007 at 1:12 am Leave a comment

A little over a week ago, I attended a meeting of my union. We had several guest speakers from FTAC, which I found out meant :”Film and Television Action Comittee”, a logo I had noticed on car bumpers and on t-shirts on the sets I work on over the past few years. As I heard that this group was working to stop runaway production (films being made out of California) in the movie industry, I was sure that the initials T-A-C meant Those Australians and Canadians, feel free to fill in what you thought that I thought the F stood for.
Anyway, it was strange to hear that they wanted to urge the U.S. government to keep the industry in America (California, to be more specific), and wanted to rouse the American people to give their support to this drive. I had to wonder why we should hope to get this kind of support from Americans, when the meeting parking lot was full of almost entirely German and Japanese imported cars. To me, this indicated there was not much in the way of an endorsement of our union members of the American auto industry, which I hear is in need of a big shot in the ass to keep going. Someday soon I’ll start up a group that I’ll call FTGJ. Please feel free to pick the words to match the initials.

Drive on……

P.S., Blessed art thou, O Ford my car, cruiser of the highway, long may you roll

Today’s quote:
“I know that most men, including those at ease with problems of the greatest complexity, can seldom accept even the simplest and most obvious truth if it be such as would oblige them to admit the falsity of conclusions which they have delighted in explaining to colleagues, which they have proudly taught to others, and which they have woven, thread by thread, into the fabric of their lives.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Darth Cheney must live! U.C.L.A. When There’s No Smog

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728  

Most Recent Posts


