I Finally Set My T.V. Free

January 4, 2010 at 2:54 pm 3 comments

I made an interesting discovery this past holiday weekend, driven by the news of an impending shut down on Time Warner Cable of the Fox (which I refuse watch to anyway) Network, and the idea that a similar action by most of the other networks are looming on the horizon.

Here’s an update to this post

I went to that proud bastion of Chinese capitalism, know in America as “Wal-Mart”, and bought a $14.00 dollar old school rabbit ear antenna set which easily hooked up in moments to my recently purchased flat screen digital tv, and I found that with only that cheap toy looking interior antenna I could receive about 60 channels.

Because the signal is uncompressed (ask a techy friend), the image on my screen is very sharp on many of them, with no broken up mosaic patterns or stuttering sound track that have been so often a large part of my TWC cable viewing experience.

And, by the way, after that initial $14 spent on the antenna, from that point on it’s all free……

So, sometime soon I’ll get up on the roof and install the $40.00 butterfly style antenna that I bought soon after at a local electronics outlet and after I test it I’ll tell Time Warner what they can do with their $125.00 (+/-) a month system with so many unwatched channels and so few changing movie choices. I guessing that with a well lit screen it won’t matter if the sun doesn’t shine there.

It’s always been disturbing to me that I’ve been paying for so many channels that I would never watch, i.e. sports, spanish and asian language shows, and most of the rest they feature, on a cable system that could easily offer consumers ala-carte ordering so a customer could fine tune (no pun intended) those tv options to match their preferences.

Hey, let’s keep this our dirty little secret, lest crowds of people across the country find out that they can dump cable and put those Time Warner, Comcast, Dish, Direct, ATT, ETC, ETC bait and switch thieves out on the street.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Avatar Advisory Ahead CES La(s) Ve(gas), Baby!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. barbara Wolfe  |  January 18, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    As for On Demand Movies… try your local REDBOX at most 7/11s or Albertsons. For a buck a night you definitely can be free of cable.

    Reply
  • 2. Adam  |  January 20, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Nice post. Actually just had a similar post on my blog, then saw yours. Nice to see others who see no point in most of the nonsense on Cable TV.

    Reply
  • 3. Fiddlin’ on the roof « Dog Bless Us One And All  |  February 17, 2010 at 6:08 am

    [...] 17, 2010 As mentioned in a previous post, I’ve slipped off the grid, t.v. wise anyway. I finally got up on the roof and hooked up [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

